You’re getting tired of it

Today, we had yet another class on intercultural communication.

Our lecturer assumed that we will be tired of talking about globalization. But the only people who can get tired of it are the ones who don’t understand what it means. Globalization is what changes everything, what makes our generation the most travelling and open one. And whether you are for or against that, it is a fact.

So, this globalization makes us encounter people from other countries. Be it on the street, in professional life or in lectures. And that is what we need to be prepared for. So far, so good.

Of course, there are a lot of hot buttons and culture clashes when we talk to foreign people. But my problem is: is it really because of another culture or are we only reinforcing stereotypes by attributing these problems to different nationalities?

Because clashes do not only happen between cultures. In my eyes, clashes happen between people. Of course, since we are taught to use logic, it makes sense to find out rules for interpersonal relationships. But one thing is important to keep in mind here: no two people are the same. Therefore we have to find our own recipe in every single societal encounter.

I personally I am not happy to be treated differently or with more caution when I am in another country – that automatically excludes me. Of course, I would like others to accept my quirks and be careful. But still, I would rather try and treat people with as much respect as I treat people from my own country and nothing should go wrong.

And I will never get tired of talking about that.

(The only group of people I don’t like are Physics teachers. I would have needed a course on how to understand them)

Leave a Reply

